deckstats.net
You need to be logged in to do this.
The buttons above will open in a new window. Please return to this window after you have logged in. When you have logged in, click the Refresh Session button and then try again.

Author Topic: How do you pay for MTG? Budget Tips  (Read 9019 times)

skeri

• Do something that scares you.
  • Decks
How do you pay for MTG? Budget Tips
« on: April 23, 2016, 11:10:45 pm »
Hey everyone!

I'm a college student in my mid twenties in my last year of my Bachelor's degree in Art History. I work full time as the supervisor for an anatomy laboratory and pay for life, school, and my hobbies. I'm fairly new to this particular hobby, and I really want to get into it, but I'm also a serious financial planner. I play standard at my Friday night Magic group and I can tell that people sink lots of money into their decks. Also there are things like sleeves, mats, and accessories as well as tournament fees and new cards that will constantly need to be bought as they rotate in and out.

Does anyone have any budget tips or ways that they get MTG to "pay for itself" or ways to save/budget for Magic? How do you guys work Magic into your financial lives?

Thanks!
Time is precious, waste it wisely.

WWolfe

• Patron
  • Banging and (spell) slanging!
  • Decks
Re: How do you pay for MTG? Budget Tips
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2016, 11:43:11 pm »
As weird as it sounds, I treat Magic as a bill each month. I have so much budgeted for it. A few things I did (and still do for the most part) before I was financially better however....

1- Despite the thrill of opening packs, it is usual cheaper to just buy the cards you specifically want than it is to buy packs hoping to get the card you want.