deckstats.net
You need to be logged in to do this.
The buttons above will open in a new window. Please return to this window after you have logged in. When you have logged in, click the Refresh Session button and then try again.

Author Topic: Grading the new staples  (Read 1025 times)

Morganator 2.0

• Global Moderator
  • Decks
Grading the new staples
« on: May 08, 2023, 10:19:32 pm »
I know I complain about the massive product overload a lot, but it does have one upside: There are now a bunch of new and unique cards that I'm seeing for the first time. Sometimes it feels like I'm new to the game again when I see a card and say "What the heck is that!?".

We've also received a bunch of new "staples". This might be a misnomer, as these cards are not used in every deck, but there are a lot of decks that can use them. I'm going to give my opinion on these cards from the last two years and then if you have something you'd like to say about the cards (either in favour of their usefulness or against it) please share. More importantly, if there is a card I've missed from recent sets that you think is a staple (or at the very least really good), please post your opinion of it here.

An Offer You Can't Refuse

A great 1 mana counterspell. It can't be used to counter creatures (which is becoming increasingly relevant) but most counterspells should be protective anyway. Has the downside of giving your opponent 2 treasures bitten anyone in the back yet?

Archivist of Oghma

I have not seen enough of this card to know if it's good, but I want to believe. Fetch lands alone should give enough draw. How has this card been working out for you?

Boseiju, Who Endures

A lot of the cards from this cycle were great, but this one in particular stands out. The only reason why I'm not using it in every one of my green decks is because my wallet is already crying for mercy.

Brotherhood's End

An upgrade to Anger of the Gods. I haven't had a chance to use it, but I want to.

Cankerbloom