deckstats.net
You need to be logged in to do this.
The buttons above will open in a new window. Please return to this window after you have logged in. When you have logged in, click the Refresh Session button and then try again.

Author Topic: Suggestion for Flash/control-oriented commander  (Read 724 times)

EMaxxi

• Decks
Suggestion for Flash/control-oriented commander
« on: March 26, 2023, 06:34:10 pm »
Hi all,

I've been playing commander since Commander 2015 and my first deck was a Keranos, God of Storms control deck that focused a lot on counterspells and removal, with very few creatures, and was not very good (though having an almost untouchable commander was cool).

Since then, I've been toying with flash/spellslinger/counterspells decks, but I can't find a configuration that I like.
So I wanted to ask a few things:
1) How many non-Instant, non-Flash cards would you play in this kind of decks?
2) What are some good commanders for this strategy?
3) What is your general opinion on these decks? Is old-school spell-based control viable in Commander?

Thanks! :)

Somewhitedude001

• Decks
Re: Suggestion for Flash/control-oriented commander
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2023, 08:57:42 pm »
The best control commander I've played against is Rashmi, Eternities Crafter. She basically reads "Whenever you counterspell, draw your next counterspell", and since you're in Simic you can make a lot of mana very quickly.

Morganator 2.0

• Global Moderator
  • Decks
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2023, 09:01:22 pm »
1) How many non-Instant, non-Flash cards would you play in this kind of decks?

Not many. Mana rocks and quality enchantments/creatures. Ideally most of your spells could be cast at instant-speed.

2) What are some good commanders for this strategy?

Nymris, Oona's Trickster was made for this, as was Rashmi, Eternities Crafter.

3) What is your general opinion on these decks? Is old-school spell-based control viable in Commander?