deckstats.net
You need to be logged in to do this.
The buttons above will open in a new window. Please return to this window after you have logged in. When you have logged in, click the Refresh Session button and then try again.

Author Topic: Suggestions  (Read 5916 times)

ep1cn00b

• Strive 2 be strange Refuse 2 be normal!
  • Decks
Suggestions
« on: March 24, 2016, 10:26:50 pm »
If this is discussed elsewhere, I apologize.I was just curious as to the general consensus of this site. I am rather new to MtG and I am trying to figure out if I should go straight for a Modern Deck or build a Standard deck first. I don't have a TON of money to work with and I know good modern decks can be pricey. My question is, what would you guys recommend? Modern or Standard?

WWolfe

• Patron
  • Banging and (spell) slanging!
  • Decks
Re: Suggestions
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2016, 12:34:08 am »
Standard starting off. Modern can be pricey and since you've said you don't have a ton of money to put into it....
This space for rent.

ladof

• Decks
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2016, 01:40:28 am »
I'd almost go the other way Wolfe. Yes, Modern has a higher initial cost, but staying relevant in Standard gets expensive fast. At least with modern, you can build a deck and, assuming you build a decent one, stick with it for a while. Yes, you might make small changes once in a while as new cards come out, but a lot of modern staples are largely unchanged in a long time.

Heck, you can build an infect deck for <50$ that can beat 1000$ goyf decks pretty easily. Standard's rotation makes it expensive to stay up with. I usually buy a box on release (didn't for oath because I just bought a house; money was tighter), but even then I don't get one of everything (although I'm usually only a card or two off a playset for commons and have most of the uncommons.) That's what, 300$ a year? And not that far down the line, those cards fall off and you can't use them anymore in Standard.