deckstats.net
You need to be logged in to do this.
The buttons above will open in a new window. Please return to this window after you have logged in. When you have logged in, click the Refresh Session button and then try again.

Author Topic: [Modern] They asked me not to play this deck  (Read 555 times)

Mostlynotgay

• It's really not THAT impressive
    • Mostlynotgay Videos
  • Decks
[Modern] They asked me not to play this deck
« on: January 30, 2018, 07:27:46 am »
They asked me not to play this deck

Like, literally.  My LGS asked me not to play this deck.  I only brought it because I was tired of the same people playing the same 3 "turn 3.5 win" decks.  So I brought one that just grinds the game to a halt. 

Update to my lantern deck after talking to another guy who also plays it.  He gave me some nice cards to try.  This is kind of a merge of his and my decks. 

"Quick" Backstory: I've wanted to build a lantern control deck ever since I started playing (which was about when Lantern Control came out).  I love the idea of control, and LC is the best kind of control.  I wasn't going to build it, though, because it is kinda a superdouche deck.  But then the people in my playgroup started building crazy horsecrap decks (8-rack, ubermill, anything Jeskai) so I was like "Fine, if they insist on building these, then I will try to build a deck that they can't beat."  I put more time, effort, and research into this than any of the other decks.  And I'm still going.  Love this deck. 

The idea, for those who don't know, is to use Lantern of Insight combined with Codex Shredder and Goulcaller's Bell to mill good cards into your graveyard, and make sure your opponent only ever draws crap cards.  Mana flood them, or mana starve them.  Or leave them with 2 mana and a hand full of 9+ cards.  It's up to you!