deckstats.net

Author Topic: X-costed cards and damage  (Read 104 times)

theinfamoose327

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
  • Decks
X-costed cards and damage
« on: October 11, 2018, 11:26:06 pm »
My friends and I were discussing this the other day, and I couldn't really find any concrete answers, so I thought I'd turn here. If I were to return, say Burn from within from my graveyard to my hand using Volcanic Vision, what would happen? I thought that VV would deal damage equal to what I paid on bfw (for example, I paid 4 four the X cost, so it would deal 5). My friend contested it would only deal 1. What is the correct answer? thanks for your help.

WWolfe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
  • Karma: 418
  • Banging and (spell) slanging!
    • View Profile
  • Decks
Re: X-costed cards and damage
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2018, 11:34:38 pm »
It would only deal 1 damage. Burn From Within's CMC is 1 as X is considered a variable casting cost and has no value towards CMC. This is true for all spells that contain X in their casting cost.
This space for rent.

DelverMage

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
  • Karma: 107
    • View Profile
  • Decks
Re: X-costed cards and damage
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2018, 11:46:37 pm »
I second WWolfes answer. 

The value of X, when it comes to CMC is 0, when it is not on the stack.

This is a copy of the official rule in the comprehensive rules document, Guilds of Ravnica edition.

202.3e When calculating the converted mana cost of an object with an {X} in its mana cost, X is treated as 0 while the object is not on the stack, and X is treated as the number chosen for it while the object is on the stack.