deckstats.net
You need to be logged in to do this.
The buttons above will open in a new window. Please return to this window after you have logged in. When you have logged in, click the Refresh Session button and then try again.

Author Topic: Please sanity check my inclusions  (Read 800 times)

CleanBelwas

• Decks
Please sanity check my inclusions
« on: June 28, 2020, 11:17:49 pm »
Hi all,

For reasons I'm not quite sure of, I really like Zirda, the Dawnwaker.

I got lucky and pulled one out of a pack so decided to give it a go and make a deck. I started brewing, went through my boxes and what not looking for good abilities that get better when they're cheap, as you do. One of the first cards I thought of was Basalt Monolith. I've got one kicking around in a other deck somewhere and thought "Hey, infinite mana. Seems good".

Then I went over to EDHRec to see if I'd missed anything obvious and basalt monolith isn't in the mana artifacts on the Zirda page.

Am I going crazy? Zirda and Basalt monolith is infinite mana, right?

Tap Basalt for 3, use Zirda's reduction to activate Basalt's untap ability for 1 (as the untap ability isn't a mana ability), net 2, repeat an arbitrarily large but defined amount of times.

I get that EDHRec is an aggregate of real peoples decks so it's not necessarily going to pick up everything or be consistent etc., but given that basalt monolith is reasonably budget, zirda has 200+ decks and it's a real easy 2 card infinite mana combo (one card being your commander), I was really expecting to see it and so I'm questioning if I've missed something important?

If I'm being an idiot, feel free to point and laugh at me. If I'm not, hooray! Infinite Mana!
« Last Edit: June 28, 2020, 11:19:28 pm by CleanBelwas »

Xaarvaxus

• Decks
Re: Please sanity check my inclusions
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2020, 11:47:07 pm »