deckstats.net
You need to be logged in to do this.
The buttons above will open in a new window. Please return to this window after you have logged in. When you have logged in, click the Refresh Session button and then try again.

Author Topic: First ever commander deck I've built, please rate  (Read 636 times)

llDunkz

• Decks
First ever commander deck I've built, please rate
« on: March 04, 2021, 02:14:43 am »
R/G Commander in progress

I've never built a commander deck before, please let me know if it's any good at all or maybe give me suggestions on how to make it better. Thanks :)

WizardSpartan

• Red_Wyrm's boo
  • Decks
Re: First ever commander deck I've built, please rate
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2021, 03:01:37 am »
I built Grand Warlord Radha a few months ago, and she's really fun. Great commander pick.

My list: https://deckstats.net/decks/120669/1839054-grand-warlord-radha-big-mana/en

I wouldn't worry too much about exactly which cards I chose to include, but look at the amounts of each type of card and what the categories look like to get an idea of what the average deck would look like. Here's what I like to start with, no matter the deck.
  • 38 lands - Pretty much any commander deck is fine starting with 38 lands. Once you have playtested the deck & have a better idea of how it does, you can start adjusting as needed, but a 38 is a good basis. I wouldn't include too many taplands, though, as that can slow you down.
  • 10 pieces of ramp - You are going to want your ramp to be 2 or less mana (to facilitate your 4 mana commander), and you want a lot of it. Ramp is one of the two pillars of EDH, but you're in luck. Green has by far the best ramp out of all 5 colors. In addition to staples like Sol Ring, Arcane Signet, etc. you have land ramp like Farseek, Nature's Lore, Rampant Growth, Sakura-Tribe Elder, etc.