English-language Forums > Primers

The Rielle Deal: It's Time To Stop Sleeping On Rielle, the Everwise!!

(1/2) > >>

ComingUpCway84:
Introduction
I've been playing EDH for about 4 years now, and over that time I've tried out a bunch of strategies- from Feldon of the Third Path Reanimator, to Toshiro Umezawa Conotrol, to Rienne, Angel of Rebirth Multicolour Beats, to Trostani Discordant Tokens and Brago, King Eternal Blink. But no commander, and no deck, has ever captured my attention more completely than Rielle, the Everwise. Rielle might not be the most underused general around- ranking #9 in the Most Common Izzet Generals on EDHREC- but in the year or so since her release (and since I started playing her) I've never seen another Rielle deck in the wild. The goal of this primer is to hopefully change that, and prove that Rielle isn't just my favourite commander ever printed; she's also one of the most understatedly powerful commanders in the game with a bit of support.

Why Play Rielle
- You love to draw an absolutely ludicrous amount of cards in every game;
- You want to make use of a pretty unorthodox strategy;
- You want a deck that can win fast, but also hold it's own in grindier games;
- You want a deck that really focuses on it's commander;
- You want a deck that can be customised in order to play, and win, in totally different ways depending on your preference.

Why to Avoid Rielle
- You like to play more creature-heavy strategies;
- You're playing in a meta with a whole bunch of Hullbreacher (HB isn't a death sentence for the deck, but it's a serious problem that demands an answer before you can do anything too crazy);
- You don't like the way that Izzet decks generally play;
- You want a deck that doesn't really rely on it's commander's ability to win.

The Game Plan