deckstats.net
You need to be logged in to do this.
The buttons above will open in a new window. Please return to this window after you have logged in. When you have logged in, click the Refresh Session button and then try again.

Author Topic: Eternal Artisan, my Battle Deck Collection  (Read 1863 times)

0verbeing

• Decks
Eternal Artisan, my Battle Deck Collection
« on: September 14, 2021, 06:38:13 am »
I have always loved brewing and deck building. I would go months on end bringing a different standard brew to my local FNM. Around 2013 I had the idea to start brewing and building in a format that doesn't really exist. I started brewing themed decks with no rares in them. At first just with what I have, but not long after I was building with anything that had ever been a non rare.

Check out my currently built decks here: https://deckstats.net/decks/183308/f89553/

Some have called it SilverBlack, but recently I have been calling it Eternal Artisan. Eternal meaning that there all magic sets with the standard card back and non-silver bordered card frames, and Artisan meaning any card that has been printed as a Common or Uncommon.

The reason I chose this restriction instead of building in existing formats is that with all of the resources and data the magic community has access to these days, formats get solved and metagames develop, so I wanted to build in a space that was unexplored. I chose to build without rares because I think restrictions breed creativity and I wanted to build something a little more accessible. I think the Penny Dreadful format is successful in this aspect in a similar way.

I have designed well over 100 decks and currently have about 70 decks built in paper, sleeved and ready to go. Because I am the only person making these decks, it has functioned the best as a collection of Battle Decks. The most common way that they get played is players like to just reach in the box and grab random decks and battle it out head to head.